Step 0. Using your web browser, go directly to https://makecode.microbit.org to land the MakeCode for micro:bit home page. You can bookmark this package to easily open this package for next project. In the My Projects section, click on the New Project

For more information about MakeCode, please go to our tutorial: What is MakeCode


Step 1. In the Toolbox, click on the Variables category and then click the Make a Variable button.

Step 2. In the New Variable name window, type “potentiometerval” as the variable name, then click on the Ok button.

Step 3. Drag and drop a set potentiometerval to 0 block inside the forever block.

Step 4. In the Toolbox, click on the Pins category under Advanced.

Step 5. Now, click and drag the analog read pin P0 block over and place it inside the placeholder of the set potentiometer to 0 block. Then choose P2 from the drop-down menu.

Step 6. Drag and drop a analog write pin P0 to 1023 block from Pins category over and place it inside forever block.

Step 7. Drag and drop potentiometerVal block from variable category   and place it inside the placeholder of the analog write pin to block

Step 8. rename the project b and download it

Step 9. Download this “.hex” file and send it to your MICROBIT disk.

Below is the full code we have done for you as reference:

Complete wiring and power up, and you can rotate the potentiometer to adjust the brightness of LED

Learn More about parts

No. Picture Product Name Link
1 BBC micro:bit micro Mainboard https://osoyoo.store/products/bbc-micro-bit-micro-controller-with-motion-detection-compass-led-display-and-bluetooth?variant=31021023002735
2 OSOYOO Expansion board for Micro:bit https://osoyoo.store/products/pnp-board-for-micro-bit-stem-kitmodel-2018005900?variant=31698997444719
3 Green LED Module https://osoyoo.store/products/green-led-module-for-osoyoo-stem-kit-for-micro-bit-model-2019011500?variant=31957968158831
4 Yellow LED Module https://osoyoo.store/products/yellow-led-module-for-osoyoo-stem-kit-for-micro-bit-model-2019011500
5 Red LED Module https://osoyoo.store/products/red-led-module-for-osoyoo-stem-kit-for-micro-bit-model-2019011500?variant=31957964882031
6 White LED Module https://osoyoo.store/products/white-led-module-for-osoyoo-stem-kit-for-micro-bit-model-2019011500?variant=31816681128047
7 Humi & Temp Module https://osoyoo.store/products/humi-temp-module-for-osoyoo-stem-kit-for-micro-bit-model-2019011500?variant=31957977563247
8 Passive buzzer Module https://osoyoo.store/products/passive-buzzer-module-for-osoyoo-stem-kit-for-micro-bit-model-2019011500
9 Flame sensor Module https://osoyoo.store/products/flame-sensor-module-for-osoyoo-stem-kit-for-micro-bit-model-2019011500
10 Red Button Module https://osoyoo.store/products/red-button-module-for-osoyoo-stem-kit-for-micro-bit-model-2019011500?variant=31958006693999
11 Yellow Button Module https://osoyoo.store/products/yellow-button-module-for-osoyoo-stem-kit-for-micro-bit-model-2019011500?variant=31958014328943
12 Photoresitor Module https://osoyoo.store/products/photoresitor-module-for-arduino-microbit-osoyoo-stem-kitmodel-2019011500?variant=31958061154415
13 RGB Module https://osoyoo.store/products/rgb-module-for-osoyoo-stem-kit-for-micro-bit-arduino-raspberry-pi-model-2019011500?variant=31958069739631
14 IR Receiver Module https://osoyoo.store/products/ir-receiver-module-for-arduino-raspberry-pi-micro-bit-stem-model-2019011500?variant=31958077309039
15 Infrared Remote Controller https://osoyoo.store/products/infrared-remote-controller-for-arduino-raspberry-pi-microbit-stemmodel-2019011500?variant=31958087532655
16 Microphone Module https://osoyoo.store/products/microphone-module-for-arduino-raspberry-pi-micro-bit-stem-model-2019011500?variant=31958089597039
17 Potentiometer Module https://osoyoo.store/products/potentiometer-module-for-osoyoo-stem-kit-for-micro-bit-model-2019011500?variant=31817102852207
18 Fan Motor module https://osoyoo.store/products/fan-motor-module-for-osoyoo-stem-kit-for-micro-bit-model-2019011500?variant=31957989359727
19 Micro Servo motor https://osoyoo.store/products/micro-servo-sg90-blue-for-arduino-v2-0-robot-carmodel-lacc200610
20 Ultrasonic detector module https://osoyoo.store/products/ultrasonic-detector-module-for-arduino-raspberry-pi-micro-bit-stemmodel-2019011500?variant=31958286729327
21 1602 I2C LED Screen https://osoyoo.store/products/white-led-module-for-osoyoo-stem-kit-for-micro-bit-model-2019011501?variant=31817047048303
22 1 Channel Relay Module https://osoyoo.store/products/1-channel-relay-module-for-osoyoo-stem-kit-for-micro-bit-model-2019011500?variant=31957950562415